First Class: British Airways, London to Newark in a Boeing 777-300ER (LHR-EWR)

I managed to get this fare at a substantially reduced rate, I started my trip in Dublin and then connected through Heathrow, a pain I know but I live in the North anyway so I usually have to connect. The saving was thousands of pounds, I also needed some additional tier points for the year and I wasn’t in any hurry anyway.

map-dub-ewr-lhr-man

I love BA’s First Class product, it is simple elegant, attentive, spacious and I think they have the right balance for the European and American market.

I started with a trip to the Concorde Lounge for breakfast, I left my stuff in the cabana and headed to the dining room. As always I found the staff to be good and some great. I had scrambled eggs and smoked salmon washed down with a Manhattan. Skipped a spa treatment today as I couldn’t think of what to have.

Flying today would be on a 777-300ER with more space than the 747 but less than the A380. Seated in 1A and the cabin was half full. I like the larger wardrobe 1A affords you.

ewr9

Cabin crew welcomed me at the door and showed me to my suite. I got a veteran crew member today and she was great. So funny, knowledgeable and polite. My amenity kit, PJ’s and slippers were brought to me with a nice cold glass of LP Grand Siècle.

After take off I went for the Woodford reserve with a slice of orange and coke. The food today was great…I really never have a bad meal in First, but many people seem to complain online? Hey I’m a BA nut and loyalist I guess.

I had the Crab amuse bouche, followed by King Prawns on a coriander and sweet potato puree bed then the Veal and finished off with Rum Baba…mmmm

 

Leave a Reply

