Club World: British Airways, London to Atlanta in a Boeing 777-200ER (LHR-ATL)

I was attending a Glass & Window convention in Atlanta, not a destination I had any real pull to visit although it was good weather and I went to my first Baseball game whilst eating a hot dog!

map-atl

I arrived at T5 with around 2 hours to spare before my flight, naturally I headed off to the Galleries First lounge…where the first thing I had was a coffee!?!? My face says it all. Then I decided to get some food and rather than order from the a’ la carte menu I opted for the smoked chicken from the buffet looked pretty tasty, it was.

I walked out onto the observation deck and took a shot of the planes parked up today at Heathrow. It was a nice sunny September day. I allowed myself enough time to get to the gate via the monorail and upon arrival I realised we would be loaded into a transfer bus then driven to the aircraft steps, not my favourite but this can happen at busy airports.

I was welcomed on-board and pointed in the direction of my seat 10D. This was an older plane in the BA fleet for sure but it was clean and the Club cabin was the 2006 variant. The cabin was around 60% full and I had no one in the middle ‘couples suite’ to my right. There was a nice older couple in the two seats to my left and they seemed friendly and chatty. I was going to be away for three nights so I face timed my kids before take-off whilst I looked at the menu.

On the flight menu today…Seared Tiger Prawns, followed by Fillet of Beef in a rosemary & thyme jus, finished off with a desert of Lemon fondant with Blackcurrant confit – washed down with a (few) Kir Royale or Champagne.

I really like BA food it is always well thought out, balanced and tasty – unless you have rice…that does not sit well in the BA ovens! Desserts are always excellent

atl 5

After dinner I thought (unusually for me) I would watch a movie, Star Trek II was on the VOD so I was in heaven…KHHHHAAAANNNN!

atl 8

I had a walk to the Club kitchen after the movie and helped myself to some cheese & biscuits, a few of the crew were talking about trips they had upcoming and one of them said stay here if you want and have a chat with us, which I did. When you are travelling alone it always pays to listen to other travel stories it is not only fun but also informative.

I headed back to my seat and had a good two hour sleep. I awoke to afternoon tea (as I’ve said before the crown jewel in BA’s on-board offerings).

atl 12

The cabin crew had been particularly attentive to all of us in Club and I could see on other passenger’s faces that this had been a pleasant flight.

When we landed I noticed a familiar face disembarking with us.. the Country singer and husband of Nicole Kidman Keith Urban. I didn’t bother him, flying BA you see a lot of celebrities and my policy is to leave them be….unless it’s Joan Collins, but that’s a story for another day.

atl 13

The trade show was a success and I thoroughly enjoyed my first Baseball game watching the Atlanta Braves.

Leave a Reply

