Business Class: Cathay Pacific, Hong Kong to Saigon in a Boeing 777-200 (HKG-SGN)

I had landed into Hong Kong feeling pretty refreshed after my long haul flight with BA from London. I headed to the Cathay Pacific First Class lounge for a shower and to relax before my onward flight to Saigon Vietnam.

pier

I have to say the lounge was wonderful, the staff – just exceptional and frankly it put most airline lounges to shame it was luxurious and beautiful…

….it always helps me to relax with a glass of Champagne.

The flight to Ho Chi Min City (Saigon) would take just over two hours and it would be chance for me to try out Cathay Pacific’s new short-haul Business Class product on their 777-200.

map-hkg-sgn

cathay-1

I boarded early and the cabin manager showed me to my seat. I was offered a pre-departure beverage and I opted for one of Cathay’s signature cocktails, it was fresh and just what I needed.

cocktail

The seat itself has an angled bed/recliner seat – more than adequate for at least a 5 hour journey in my opinion. Your feet are housed in a ‘cubby’ hole if you recline the seat. All seat housings are fixed so no one intrudes on anyone else’s space.

Once in the air I was offered a menu and a G&T.

gt

I ordered the garlic bread with a king prawn salad followed by blackened cod in a honey sauce.

cathay-772-food

cathay-772-food-2

I then had an ice cream with a glass of Verve Cliquot. All in all very impressive meal service for a short flight.

This was my Birthday, BA had merely recognised it with a Happy Birthday as they served my breakfast. Cathay Pacific however chose to make more of a fuss! The cabin manager and two crew members came to my seat and wished me a Happy Birthday, presented me with more Champagne and a Birthday card signed by the crew, they said on behalf of Cathay Pacific, British Airways and the entire Oneworld alliance we thank you for flying with us and wish you a very Happy Birthday.

Nice touch, I was impressed and thought it was kind of cool…LITERALLY EVERYONE in the cabin was thinking “who the F-bomb is this guy”.

runway-1

Overall one of my best flights ever….EVER!

 

Leave a Reply

