Round the world: Qatar Airways Business Class Manchester to Doha in a Boeing 787-8 MAN-DOH

map man 2

So the day finally came for me to undertake a trip around the world, with no stopovers – just aircraft after airport after lounge after aircraft…..60 hours of rinse, dry…repeat.
I can tell you that this is something I’ve wanted to do for a very long time….for no other reason than I can and I want to!
My first flight is with Qatar Airways part of Oneworld, in fact the entire trip was booked through British Airways and all the airlines are part of what I consider to be the superior airline alliance.

IMG_3838
The lounge at Manchester is an extension of the Escape brand but much better in a separate lounge for Virgin Atlantic and Qatar. Hot food options plus self serve alcohol including fizz…but not Champagne.
I opted for a plate of fish cakes, cottage pie and ruby coleslaw plus soup and chips with dips, a real mix I know.

IMG_3852
Boarding was slightly delayed but we departed on time. I boarded first and made my way to seat 2A in the open and fresh feeling Business Class cabin.

IMG_3851
Once seated I was offered, a welcome drink, pyjamas, a hot towel, a food menu, a beverage menu and an amenity kit by Brics.

Up in the air I decided to dine pretty much asap, Qatar offer a dine-on-demand service and I thought it best to eat and get some sleep ahead of my 25,000 mile journey.

IMG_3856
I went with the Pea soup to start

IMG_3896
Then the Arabic Mezze

IMG_3895
Followed by the Seared Sea Bass

IMG_3894
Then the rich chocolate torte

IMG_3893
Finished off with the cheese plate and a Campari.

IMG_3892
A truly excellent feast!
Then it was time to convert my seat pod into a bed, thankfully the crew did this for me.

IMG_3891
I awoke feeling refreshed and ready for another hearty meal….Steak and eggs, yummy!

IMG_3903
As we approached Doha, I got a sudden sense of what I had committed to, this was only flight number 1. I am both excited and immensely happy to have started this journey.


Next stop….Jakarta

Leave a comment